Health & Fitness, Work-Out

Setting up a home gym

When I used to stay in Gurgaon, I happened to stay in an apartment complex which had a gym inside it. That was the perfect setup for me. Even if I got late from office, I would just head downstairs for a quick workout. I shifted to Delhi once I got married, and realized that most houses in Delhi don’t have a similar setup. I thought of joining a gym, but the steep fees deterred me, more so because I knew I wouldn’t be regular if I needed to go somewhere outside for a workout. The weather’s also pretty extreme in Delhi, and I knew there was no way I would head out for a workout in the dense fog in January or in the soaring heat in June. Also given the latest pollution reports, I wanted to avoid outside workouts unless absolutely necessary.

So, I complained and whined for a while.For, a really long time till I realized I need to solve my own problems. I also tried the You-Tube exercise videos. Those are pretty awesome by the way, but after a while I decided I needed some equipment as well. Luckily, I happened to have an old treadmill lying at my home in Kolkata, and my super-sweet grandfather sent that to me in Delhi. Here it is now in my home in Delhi.

treadmill

I bought a couple of dumbbells, and now I’m pretty sorted. I workout whenever I feel like and I do a couple of free-hand exercises as well.

Having a home gym allows me to be flexible, yet regular in my workouts. If you don’t want to invest in any major equipment, following are some of the stuff you can start buying just to get started off:

1.) A skipping rope (INR 200-300)

2.) An exercise mat (INR 400-600)

3. A couple of dumbbells (INR 300-500)

Armed with the above and You-Tube (check out my upcoming posts for some great exercise videos), you should be able to start off immediately.

And, given how the above setup works for you, you can decide to invest in an elliptical/cycle/treadmill for your home gym, or decide to get a gym membership. If you’re a really disciplined individual and you know you’re going to go to a gym regularly, then definitely go for that. But, if you’re like me and your work-hours aren’t fixed, this sort of a setup might make sense for you. You can also look at buying second-hand equipment if you don’t want to make a big investment immediately.

Of course, along with gym/exercise, I also believe in playing a sport. And, for that you definitely need to get out of the house, but I’m going to cover that in another post. For now, working out at home makes me feel a whole lot better. And, I don’t feel like a sloth anymore. So, if you can’t go the gym, bring the gym to you.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Setting up a home gym”

  1. Great tips. Great workouts can also be achieved without much equipment. I love a good Piyo based workout. No equipment at all and I always end it dripping in sweat.

    Like

Please leave a comment, I would love to hear your thoughts! And, if you like my posts, "Follow Me" by clicking on the Follow button so that you can directly receive new articles from me in your mail!

