Relationships & Compassion, Soul Searching

Call your friends

You probably text your friends all the time, or you’re connected to them via WatsApp. Just because you’re a part of multiple WatsApp groups, does that mean you’re staying in touch with all your friends? When was the last time you had a proper conversation with a close friend of yours who lives in another city?

Last week, I called a really close friend of mine, who doesn’t stay in the city. I occasionally chat with her via text messages, and we’re on a couple of common WatsApp groups. But, it was a completely different experience to actually talk to her. I wasn’t aware of what was really going on in her life, and she wasn’t aware of a lot of changes in my life either. So, what is more important to you? A 15-20 minute phone conversation with a friend or a series of texts which look something like this:

You: Hey, what’s up?

Friend: Nothing much, what’s up with you?

You: Same old, work is too hectic.

Friend: Yeah, same here. I have no time.

You: I know! We should go on a holiday.

Friend: Yes please! Let’s plan.

You: Yeah, for sure. Next long weekend.

Friend: 100% we’re going.

You: I’ll call you this weekend to plan.

Friend: Sure, talk soon.

So, is it better to have the above conversation with your friend four times a month (and feel that you are staying in touch) or just to call her (even if it’s once a month), and actually be in touch? You tell me.

1 thought on “Call your friends”

Please leave a comment, I would love to hear your thoughts! And, if you like my posts, "Follow Me" by clicking on the Follow button so that you can directly receive new articles from me in your mail!

